Meatloaf with Homemade Tomato Sauce

Hurry, quick–the baby’s asleep and I have homework due by midnight! I promise I cook with things other than ground beef, but I just made my best meatloaf yet so I had to share before this got added to the collection of “things I meant to blog”……

Life is busier than ever so this morning I pulled out a frozen meatloaf and shoved it in the fridge, to hopefully thaw in time for dinner. Remember last post’s burgers? Well, since I had six pounds of ground beef I made four pounds of that stuff and smooshed half of it into a brick and threw it in the freezer. Was still pretty frozen by the time I was ready to make dinner, so I tossed it into the microwave and hit the 1lb. auto-defrost button, then plopped it from the freezer bag into a pan, and slid it into the oven that wasn’t even fully preheated to 400ºF.

But here’s what made the meal: HOMEMADE TOMATO SAUCE FOR THE MEATLOAF.
WP_20150702_002 1

My husband loves ketchup mixed with honey mustard and brown sugar on top of his meatloaf, but 1) I’m not a huge fan of ketchup, and 2) it’s really not that great for you. So I decided to experiment and had to write it down before I forgot because it came out perfect for the way we like it :-).

Homemade Tomato Sauce for Meatloaf

3 tomatoes, quartered and de-seeded
two handfuls of fresh basil
5 cloves of garlic
1 can tomato sauce
1/4 cup brown sugar
1 tsp. ground mustard
1 Tbsp. cider vinegar
2 Tbsp. dried chopped onion (I only had red onions and didn’t think they’d taste right…)
couple shakes of crushed red pepper
salt, to taste

  1. Toss the fresh tomatoes, basil, and garlic into a food processor with a pinch of salt, and pour into saucepan.
  2. Add tomato sauce, brown sugar, mustard, vinegar, red pepper, and pinch of salt.
  3. Simmer, boil, or heat however you’d like until it tastes good and is ready to go on the meatloaf, for roughly the last fifteen minutes of cook time.

That’s it. Not the smooth and sticky texture plain ketchup gives you, much closer to a marinara texture, but it tastes SO much better than ketchup!! Did I mention that burger mix makes the perfectly seasoned meatloaf? My previous meatloaf/meatball recipe from Night of the Ground Beef is good, but this is simpler and tastes amazing 🙂 YUM!

Leave a Reply

